Bill DeVore (Chair)


Term Dates: 03/01/2015 to 03/01/2019

William F. DeVore of Casper represents Aeronautics Commission District 3, which includes Fremont, Natrona, Converse, and Niobrara Counties. A Wyoming native, DeVore was born in Laramie, and has lived in Casper most of his life.  He earned his pilot credentials at Big Bend Community College in 1980, a FAR Part 141 approved program. DeVore started his aviation career at Sun Valley Aviation, as a lineman, flight instructor, and charter pilot. He went on to work for Sinclair Oil as a pilot, and later for Columbia Pictures and Sony Corporation in Los Angeles, flying executive jet aircraft.  He holds an Airline Transport Pilot (ATP) certificate, a CFII rating, and holds type ratings in the following turbojet aircraft: Lear Jet, Israeli Aircraft Jet, Cessna Citation 500 series and Dassault Falcon 50/900. DeVore alongside his brother Fred, owns Peterbilt of Wyoming, a medium and heavy duty truck and trailer dealership with four (4) locatations throughout the state, and presently flies a Beech Baron and a Beech Duke for business purposes. He served 10 years on the Casper/Natrona County International Airport Board, including serving two (2) years as president. Additionally, DeVore is an active member of the Casper Rotary Club, as well as the Casper Nordic Ski Club board. He and his wife Nina have three (3) children, and enjoy traveling, cycling, skiing, and spending time at their cabin on Casper Mountain.

John Newton (Vice Chair)


Term Dates: 03/01/2015 to 03/01/2021

John Newton of Cody represents the Aeronautics Commission's District at Large. He is a private pilot, and currently owns a single engine aircraft. He received both college and graduate level degrees in science. Newton is retired from the Federal Bureau of Investigation, after a career as a special agent. Following retirement, he moved to Cody with his wife, and served several terms on the Joint Powers Board at Yellowstone Regional Airport. During this tenure , Newton served two (2) years as Secretary, and one (1) year as Chairman. Additionally, during his time on the board he assisted in the planning, construction, and development of the new airport terminal at Yellowstone  Regional in Cody.

C.H. "Chuck" Brown III


Term Dates: 03/01/2017 to 03/01/2023

C.H. “Chuck” Brown III of Wheatland represents Aeronautics Commission District 1, which includes Laramie, Goshen, and Platte counties.  Chuck grew up in Torrington, and shortly after graduation from the University of Wyoming, where he met his wife Kate, moved to Wheatland, which has been the C.H. Brown family home since 1963.  Chuck and Kate started in business for themselves in 1968, and over the span of the next 50 years, the C.H. Brown Co. has grown into a nation-wide heavy equipment finance company.  Chuck has been actively involved in public service throughout his lifetime, having served on the Wyoming Game & Fish Commission, the Wyoming Transportation Commission, the University of Wyoming’s Board of Trustees, and the Denver Federal Reserve Bank Board, amongst others.  He and Kate have also served on numerous other civic, charitable, and church boards and commissions.  Chuck is a long-time pilot with single and multi-engine ratings.  He has flown primarily for business purposes, but also has flown may volunteer missions for friends and acquaintances as well.

Doyle Vaughan


Term Dates: 03/01/2014 to 03/01/2020

Doyle Vaughan of Jackson represents Aeronautics Commission District 2, which includes Teton, Sublette, Lincoln, Uinta, Sweetwater, and Carbon Counties. He previously served two (2), five-year terms on the Jackson Hole Airport Board, with two (2) of those years serving as Chairman. He was employed as a captain for Southwest Airlines for over 20 years, and served as an instructor pilot for the U.S. Army Primary Helicopter School at Ft. Wolters, Texas, during the Vietnam War. Following Vaughan's retirement from Southwest, he and his wife Diana founded Vaughan Distributing, which markets synthetic lubricants. Vaughan holds pilot certificate No. 1441331, with airline transport type ratings, and Boeing 737 helicopter and commercial helicopter endorsements. His total flight hours exceed 28,000 accident/incident free flying hours.

Bruce McCormack


Term Dates: 03/01/2017 to 03/01/2023

Bruce McCormack of Cody represents Aeronautics Commission District 4, which includes Washakie, Hot Springs, Park, and Big Horn counties.  He graduated high school in Houston, Texas, and went on to earn a B.A. in journalism from Michigan State University in 1975. He was involved in the newspaper business in Wyoming for nearly 40 years, working in Rawlins, Cheyenne and Lander, prior to moving to Cody in 1984. For 30 years he served as the editor and publisher of the Cody Enterprise, until his retirement from full-time work there in 2015. He still dabbles in news writing part time with other news agencies.  Bruce is a member of the Wyoming Press Association and the Cody Country Chamber of Commerce, and has actively served on the Park County Library Board. Over the years, he’s also volunteered with the Buffalo Bill Historical Center and assisted with youth ski programs and tourism promotion in his community.

Pete Schoonmaker


Term Dates: 03/01/15 to 03/01/21 

Pete Schoonmaker of Sheridan represents Aeronautics Commission District 5, which includes Sheridan, Johnson, Campbell, Weston, and Crook Counties. Schoonmaker is currently chairman, CEO, and president of Summit Gas Resources, Inc., a private natural gas production and exploration company. From 2003 to 2011, he was CEO and president of Pinnacle Gas Resources, Inc., a NASDAQ-listed public company. In 1995, he joined U.S. Energy, a publicly held mining and energy company, serving as president, chief operating officer, and director of U.S. Energy`s subsidiary Rocky Mountain Gas, Inc. In 1985, he served as president, owner, and operator of a land and agricultural company based in Colorado and Wyoming. Additionally, Schoonmaker is director and chairman of the Finance and Investment Committee for the Sheridan-based Whitney Benefits Foundation, a non-profit educational foundation, and received his pilot's license in 1997.

Sigsbee Duck


Term Dates: 03/01/2017 to 03/01/2023

Dr. Sigsbee Duck of Rock Springs represents the Aeronautics Commission's District at Large.  Dr. Duck completed his undergraduate education at Mars Hill College and Wake Forest University.  He then attended the Mercer University School of Pharmacy before attending East Carolina University School of Medicine. He thereafter served a general surgery internship at the University of Kentucky Medical Center before completing his residency in otolaryngology at Emory University. Dr. Duck is currently a Clinical Instructor of otolaryngology at the University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill and at the University of Washington Schools of Medicine.  Dr. Duck served as President of the Wyoming Medical Society in 2016. He has previously taken a leadership role in both Gillette and Rock Springs, serving as President of both the Campbell and Sweetwater County Medical Societies. Dr. Duck was honored to receive the 2017 Wyoming Medical Society Physician Achievement Award.  In his community Dr. Duck has also served as an airport board member in both Campbell and Sweetwater Counties. As a Registered Pharmacist, he was appointed by Governor Mead and served from 2012-2016 on the Wyoming Board of Pharmacy. He served as Chief of Staff of Sweetwater County Memorial Hospital form 2014-2016, where he currently practices. Dr. Duck is a proud member of the Triological Society, an academic society within otolaryngology, having served as Western Section Vice President in 2008, and is currently President-Elect for 2018-2019.  He has been married to his lovely wife, Cindy, for 35 years and they have three grown children. Dr. Duck enjoys cooking, golf, reading and aviation, holding a multi-engine instrument rating.